Teaching in a Bubble

IB PYP ESL Elementary Educational Blog

I See You Teachers

on August 1, 2016
teacher-humor-quotes-meme45

Beginning of the Year Expectations

Many teachers are preparing mentally, spiritually, emotionally as we march towards another new year. Ready or Not-many are in the process of arranging room decor and creating or updating lesson resources to ensure that their students will be engaged and excited about learning. Too many to count among us have spent a “personal fortune” to provide manipulatives, furniture books or other “educational musts” for their new crew. They are aware that they won’t be compensated for all of their efforts, and they do it ANYWAY!

I can’t help but notice all of the #TargetTeachers and photos of “scores” which have flooded my social media platforms this summer. Teachers have to be some of the most generous souls on the planet. It’s almost impossible for many to turn off their #TeacherToDoLists. If they’re not out shopping, they’ve been “DIY-ing” . I have to admit that I’m always wowed when I view pics of the process or the finished product. But then again, what do I expect from some of the most creative, passionate and determined souls that I am privileged to call my tribe? Irregardless of your assigned grade-level, physical location, age, years of service or any other factors, we are a collective and resounding “ONE”.

As we rush towards, or run away  from {LOL} the last lingering moments of our sacred summer vaca- please take some time for YOU. Indulge in whatever the image that comes to mind when you hear or read the word “pampering” or “self-care“. Find, no MAKE the time for those “little things” that bring immeasurable and unbridled joy to your heart. Savor those moments with your family and make sure that you “fill up your own gas tank” as we forge into those fast furious weeks ahead.

Come back next week as I share my thoughts regarding the students that we serve.

 

Luv, Hugs and XO’s

 

Cleo

 

 


 

 

2 responses to “I See You Teachers

  1. Jen Bradshaw says:

    What a POWERFUL poem. I LOVE the line, “You’ve robbed my students of developmentally appropriate learning, while preaching about a TESTand making education a HOT DAMNNED MESS” and I couldn’t agree more. Thank you for sharing. Jen 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you so incredibly much for sharing your thoughts and validating my convictions. Love ya Jen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

